Pete Astor - Tall Stories & New Religions

26,99 €*

Produktnummer: TR554-Vinyl
Erscheinungsdatum: 15.03.2024
01. Model Village
02. Ladies And Gentlemen
03. Chinese Cadillac
04. The Emperor, The Dealer And The Birthday Boy
05. She Comes From The Rain
06. Nancy True Knot
07. Caesar Boots
08. Head Over Heels
09. Marsh Blues
10. Emblem
11. Disney Queen
12. On Top Above The Driver
Produktinformationen "Pete Astor - Tall Stories & New Religions"
2024 marks 40 years of Pete Astor making records, a suitable anniversary point at which to take stock and double back on songs that first appeared on records by Astor-fronted combos such as Creation Records trailblazers The Loft and The Weather Prophets and Matador recording artists The Wisdom of Harry, as well as selections from solo albums that appeared on labels such as Danceteria and Static Caravan.

Astor’s motivation for TS&NR is manifold. Some songs are effectively re-examined in the way one might linger over a resonant picture from a box of old photographs – connecting with the essence of a younger self. Other songs are newly recast in wiser and more reflective hues, while others simply demanded exhumation from wilfully opaque, lo fi non-production. The songs chosen are not the obvious ones - there’s no "Up the Hill and Down the Slope" or “Almost Prayed” here - but have been selected for more interesting, often esoteric, reasons.